Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Will Reidy's effort make the top ten?

7 February 2014

Watch the goals in contention for the Mitre Goal of the Year award at the Football League Awards this Saturday to see if Kyel Reid's stunner can make the cut!


Goals from each of the 72 Football League clubs, including Reid's wonder effort at Walsall representing City, are in contention to be named the Mitre Goal of the Year at the Football League Awards 2014.


Sky Sports’ Soccer AM will this Saturday (8 February 2014) reveal which 10 goals from the list will now be put forward for a fan vote. 

Each of the 72 Football League clubs nominated their best goal from 2013 as their own ‘Mitre Goal of the Year’ for the competition.  The 10 best strikes have been selected to make the cut, with the fan vote then helping to decide the final shortlist of 5 goals. Alongside the vote, fans will be given a chance to win tickets to next month’s star studded event.

As mentioned, City's own contender is Kyel Reid's stunning solo goal at Walsall earlier this season (see video below).

The selection of the 10 best goals scored by League clubs form across Football League competitions in 2013 will be shown by Max Rushden and Helen Chamberlain on the Sky Sports programme on Saturday morning.

Should Reid's effort be selected as one of the ten contenders, supporters will then be able to follow details given by the Soccer AM presenters on how they can vote for the winger's goal.

Fans can see all 72 goals in contention for the Mitre Goal of the Year to look at what competition Reid's effort is up against by watching them all on The Football League’s YouTube channel:


Championship club goals:

League 1 club goals:

League 2 club goals:


Previous winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year award are Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest - 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City - 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City - 2009), Sylvain Ebanks-Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers - 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United - 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City - 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County - 2005).


The overall winner of the best goal from 2013 will be decided at the Football League Awards which take place at The Brewery in London on Sunday 16th March.


For more about The Football League Awards visit or search for #FLAwards on Twitter.

City's nomination - Reidy's stunner!

Advertisement block