Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Reid strike wins Goal of the Year title

20 January 2014

Kyel Reid's stunning effort at Walsall earlier this season has deservedly won City's 'Goal of the Year' title for 2013.

The flying winger's amazing opener against the Saddlers back in October was chosen as Bradford's top goal of the previous year by fans following a vote on the club's YouTube channel.

Reid's superb strike at the Bescot Stadium beat off close competition from Nahki Wells' free-kick at home to Leyton Orient and Carl McHugh's thumping header against Aston Villa to be named the club's best goal from the last twelve months.

The brilliant goal saw Reid run from just inside his own half before smashing a fierce drive into the top corner from all of 30 yards out.

The goal will now be put forward by City as the club's nomination for the Mitre Goal of the Year 2013 award.

Reid's Walsall goal will be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category for the forthcoming Football League Awards 2014.

 A judging panel will review all the nominated goals, with one coming from each Football League club, before the top 10 is shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM on 9 February.

Fans will then be given the opportunity to vote for the goals that will make up the final shortlist of five. The overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 16 March 2014.


Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005). find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

City supporters can watch Reid's winning strike away at Walsall again and again by clicking on the clip below.

Advertisement block