Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Rotherham kick off change

21 March 2014

As a mark of respect and remembrance for those who lost their lives as a result of the Hillsborough stadium disaster in April 1989, all Premier League, Football League, Football Conference and FA Cup matches taking place on the weekend of 11-14 April will kick-off seven minutes later than originally scheduled.


This means that City's match with Rotherham United on Friday 11 April 2014 at New York Stadium - to be shown live on Sky Sports - will now kick off at 7:52pm after a minute's silence.

The match at which the disaster took place, the FA Cup semi-final between Liverpool and Nottingham Forest on 15 April 1989, was ended six minutes after kick-off, at 3:06pm.


In the Premier League, Football League, and Football Conference, matches due to kick-off at 3pm on Saturday 12 April will now kick off at 3:07pm, with the minute before kick-off (3:06pm to 3:07pm) seeing a period of silence observed at all stadia.


The first FA Cup Semi-Final on Saturday 12 April between Wigan Athletic and Arsenal will now kick-off at 5.07pm with a minute of silence between 5:06pm and 5:07pm. The following day, Sunday 13 April, will see Hull City v Sheffield United begin at 4.07pm with a minute of silence between 4:06pm and 4:07pm.


Fixtures kicking-off at other times on Friday 11, Saturday 12, Sunday 13 and Monday 14 April will observe the same etiquette with matches starting seven minutes later than originally scheduled.


Friday 11 April 2014


Sky Bet League 1


Rotherham United v Bradford City 7:52pm (minute of silence between 7:51pm and 7:52pm)


Saturday 12 April 2014(minute of silence between 3:06pm and 3:07pm at all matches)


FA Cup Semi-Final


Wigan Athletic v Arsenal 5:07pm (minute of silence between 5:06pm and 5:07pm)


Barclays Premier League


Crystal Palace v Aston Villa, 3:07pm

Fulham v Norwich City, 3:07pm

Southampton v Cardiff City, 3:07pm

Stoke City v Newcastle United, 3:07pm

Sunderland v Everton, 3:07pm

Tottenham Hotspur v West Bromwich Albion 3:07pm


Sky Bet Championship


Queens Park Rangers v Nottingham Forest 12:22pm (minute of silence between 12:21 and 12:22pm)

Bolton Wanderers v Barnsley 3:07pm

Brighton and Hove Albion v Charlton Athletic 3:07pm

Burnley v Middlesbrough 3:07pm

Derby County v Huddersfield Town 3:07pm

Ipswich Town v Doncaster Rovers

Leeds United v Blackpool 3:07pm

Millwall v Watford 3:07pm

Sheffield Wednesday v Blackburn Rovers 3:07pm

Yeovil Town v AFC Bournemouth


Sky Bet League 1


Crewe Alexandra v Wolverhampton Wanderers 3:07pm

Leyton Orient v Gillingham 3:07pm

Milton Keynes Dons v Crawley Town 3:07pm

Notts County v Port Vale 3:07pm

Peterborough United v Coventry City 3:07pm

Preston North End v Carlisle United 3:07pm

Swindon Town v Brentford 3:07pm

Tranmere Rovers v Shrewsbury Town 3:07pm

Walsall v Bristol City 3:07pm


Sky Bet League 2


Bristol Rovers v Torquay United 3:07pm

Dagenham and Redbridge v Portsmouth 3:07pm

Exeter City v Cheltenham Town 3:07pm

Fleetwood Town v Morecambe 3:07pm

Hartlepool United v Chesterfield 3:07pm

Mansfield Town v Rochdale 3:07pm

Newport County v Wycombe Wanderers 3:07pm

Northampton Town v Burton Albion 3:07pm

Plymouth Argyle v Oxford United 3:07pm

Scunthorpe United v Bury 3:07pm

Southend United v AFC Wimbledon 3:07pm

York City v Accrington Stanley 3:07pm


Skrill Conference Premier


Luton V Braintree 12:52 pm (minute of silence between 12:51pm and 12:52pm)

Barnet V Halifax3:07pm           

Cambridge V Hyde3:07pm

Dartford V Forest Green3:07pm

Grimsby V Chester3:07pm

Hereford V Gateshead3:07pm

Kidderminster V Welling3:07pm

Macclesfield V Aldershot3:07pm

Salisbury V Lincoln City3:07pm

Southport V Tamworth3:07pm

Woking V Alfreton3:07pm

Wrexham V Nuneaton3:07pm   


Advertisement block