Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


18 April 2016

Club News


18 April 2016

The Football League has announced the winners at the Football League Awards 2016, the 11th annual awards ceremony that celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League’s 72 clubs.


The winners were announced at the gala ceremony at Manchester Central on Sunday (17 April 2016) evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry.


The 2016 ceremony, hosted in Manchester for the first time, were streamed live on The Football League’s official YouTube channel and website,


A global audience tuned in to watch Burnley’s Andre Gray win the Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year Award. The Sky Bet League 1 award was presented to Gillingham’s Bradley Dack while Oxford United’s Kemare Roofe received the Sky Bet League 2 accolade.  All three of the divisional Player of the Year winners were decided by a vote among club managers from their division.


Leeds United midfielder Lewis Cook was named The Football League’s Young Player of the Year, an accolade that has seen previous winners including Dele Alli and Gareth Bale go on to achieve international acclaim.


The prestigious Contribution to League Football Award was presented to Andy Williamson, who was rewarded for 45 years of unbroken service to The Football League and its clubs. During his time with the organisation, Andy has been at the heart of many of the League’s defining moments including the introduction of three points for a win in 1981 and the creation of the Play-Offs in 1986.


Former Bolton Wanderers, Preston North End and England forward Kevin Davies picked up the Sir Tom Finney Award, presented to a recently retired player that has had an outstanding career in the Football League.


The Football League also announced its Football Manager Team of the Season, revealing an all-star line-up that recognises the 11 outstanding players and one manager from across all three divisions of the Sky Bet Football League this season. 

The team included Joey Barton, Alan Judge, George Friend and Nicky Ajose, while Northampton Town manager Chris Wilder was selected as manager.


Shaun Harvey, Chief Executive of The Football League, said: "During another action packed Football League season it is important to acknowledge outstanding performances, both on and off the pitch.


“We’re delighted to recognise this special group of nominees who have shown exceptional levels of talent, dedication and achievement.  Congratulations to everyone who was nominated and particularly our winners, all of whom are deserving of their accolade.”


The full list of Award winners is shown below:


Contribution to League Football Award

Andy Williamson OBE


Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year

Andre Gray (Burnley)


Sky Bet League 1 Player of the Year

Bradley Dack (Gillingham)


Sky Bet League 2 Player of the Year

Kemar Roofe (Oxford United)


Football League Young Player of the Year

Lewis Cook (Leeds United)


Football Manager Team of the Season

Goalkeeper: Adam Smith (Northampton)

Right Back: Bruno (BHA)

Centre Back: Craig Morgan (Wigan)

Centre Back: Daniel Ayala (Middlesbrough)

Left Back: George Friend (Middlesbrough)

Midfield: Alan Judge (Brentford)

Midfield: Bradley Dack (Gillingham)

Midfield: Joey Barton (Burnley)

Forward: Kemare Roofe (Oxford United)

Forward: Nicky Ajose (Swindon Town)

Forward: Andre Gray (Burnley)


Manager: Chris Wilder (Northampton Town)


Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year

Charlton Athletic (Charlton Athletic Community Trust)


Regional Winners

South East: Brighton & Hove Albion (Albion in the Community)

North East & Yorkshire: Rotherham United (Rotherham United Community Sports Trust)

North West: Burnley (Burnley FC in the Community)

Midlands: Burton Albion (Burton Albion Community Trust)

South West & Wales: Cardiff City (Cardiff City FC Foundation)


Mitre Goal of the Year Award

Marco Matias (Sheffield Wednesday)


PFA Player in the Community Award

George Friend (Middlesbrough)


The Sir Tom Finney Award

Kevin Davies


Capital One Supporter of the Year

Oskar Pycroft (Bristol City)

Divisional winners

League 1: Tommy Leggett (Colchester United)

League 2: Pat Custard (Yeovil Town)


LFE Apprentice of the Year for the Championship

Ademola Lookman (Charlton Athletic)


LFE Apprentice of the Year for League 1

James Bree (Barnsley)


LFE Apprentice of the Year for League 2

Ben Godfrey (York City)


Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year


Divisional winners

League 1: Doncaster Rovers

League 2: Oxford United

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of award winners, visitwww.FLAwards.comor search #FLAwards on Twitter. 


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Contact