Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

TEAM NEWS | Shrewsbury Town (AWAY)

4 August 2018

Club News

TEAM NEWS | Shrewsbury Town (AWAY)

4 August 2018

City Head Coach Michael Collins has handed full debuts to nine of the club's summer signings for the Bantams' Sky Bet League One season opener at Shrewsbury Town.

Goalkeeper Richard O'Donnell begins in net, with defensive trio Joe Riley, Kelvin Mellor and Anthony O'Connor also set to feature for the Bantams in the league for the first time.

New captain Josh Wright and Hope Akpan will begin in midfield against last season's play-off finalists.

Attackers Sean Scannell, Jack Payne and George Miller are set to start ahead of them.

Two members of City's squad from last season - Adam Chicksen and Nathaniel Knight-Percival - make up Collins' starting XI at Shrewsbury's Montgomery Waters Meadow.

Recent signing Eoin Doyle is named on the bench.

1. Joel Coleman 1. Richard O'Donnell
4. Kieran Kennedy 2. Joe Riley
5. Mat Sadler (c) 3. Adam Chicksen
6. Omar Beckles 6. Anthony O'Connor
7. Shaun Whalley 7. Sean Scannell
9. Stefan Payne 10. Jack Payne
13. James Bolton 12. George Miller


19. Doug Loft

15. Kelvin Mellor
20. Aaron Amadi-Holloway 21. Hope Akpan
23. Charlie Colkett 22. Nathaniel Knight-Percival
28. Josh Laurent 44. Josh Wright (c)
Substitutes: Substitutes: 
15. Steve Arnold (GK) 13. Ben Wilson (GK)
3. Ryan Haynes 4. Ryan McGowan
12. Fejiri Okenabirhie 9. Eoin Doyle
14. Lenell John-Lewis 11. Tyrell Robinson
18. Alex Gilliead 17. Sherwin Seedorf
38. Ryan Barnett 18. Kai Bruenker
42. Anthony Grant 26. Ellis Hudson

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Contact