Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


15 September 2018

Club News


15 September 2018

Fitness concerns over a number of players within his squad has forced City Head Coach David Hopkin to shuffle the pack for his first home game in charge against Charlton Athletic.

With an almost unprecedented amount of injuries threatening to affect his plans for this afternoon's Charlton encounter at the Northern Commercials Stadium, Hopkin has made four changes to the side that began at Blackpool last weekend.

Luca Colville, skipper Josh Wright and Kelvin Mellor - all of whom picked up injuries against the Tangerines at Bloomfield Road - have been replaced in Hopkin's starting XI by Sean Scannell and recent signings Jim O'Brien and Lewis O'Brien.

For Lewis O'Brien, this Saturday's match will be his first start in senior football after coming off the bench for his league debut at Blackpool.

Fresh from signing for the club on Thursday, Jim O'Brien is eligible to make his debut for City after receiving international clearance on Friday.

Hopkin's fourth alteration to his side sees David Ball come in for George Miller to make his first start for the Bantams at Valley Parade. 

Following Wright's absence from the side, Eoin Doyle has been handed the captain's armband.

Along with Colville, Wright and Mellor, Joe Riley, Adam Chicksen, Jake Reeves, Alex Jones, Hope Akpan, Daniel Devine and Ben Wilson are all ruled out as well, meaning scholar Eliot Goldthorp have been given the opportunity for some first team experience by being named on the bench.

1. Richard O'Donnell 21. Jed Steer
4. Ryan McGowan 3. Lewis Page
5. Jim O'Brien 5. Patrick Bauer
6. Anthony O'Connor 6. Jason Pearce (c)
7. Sean Scannell 9. Lyle Taylor 
9. Eoin Doyle (c) 12. Ben Reeves
10. Jack Payne 16. Jamie Ward
22. Nathaniel Knight-Percival 17. Joe Aribo
23. Connor Wood 18. Karlan Grant
39. Lewis O'Brien 20. Chris Solly
40. David Ball 24. Josh Cullen
Substitutes: Substitutes:
31. George Sykes-Kenworthy (GK) 1. Dillon Phillips (GK)
12. George Miller 2. Anfernee Dijksteel
17. Sherwin Seedorf 7. Mark Marshall
18. Kai Bruenker 14. Igor Vetokele
25. Thomas Isherwood 19. Albie Morgan
27. Jordan Gibson 23. Naby Sarr
37. Eliot Goldthorp 32. George Lapslie

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Contact