Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


19 November 2019

The Bantams bowed out of the Emirates FA Cup in the first round, following a 1-0 replay defeat at home to Shrewsbury Town. 

In a cagey encounter, the Bantams were unable to advance to the second round - courtesy of a second-half goal from Dave Edwards.

The first chance of the game went to the visitors, through Shaun Whalley. 

The Shrews No.7 tried to direct a cross from Scott Golbourne goalward, but could not get a clean contact as the ball skewed wide - in the 11th minute. 

Despite the early scare, City’s first opportunity came inside the opening 15 minutes, courtesy of Ben Richards-Everton. 

The defender glanced Callum Cooke’s corner towards goal, but could not convert as the ball was scrambled off the line. 

With confidence growing, Gary Bowyer’s men were in again - seven minutes later.

Dylan Connolly was left free on the right-hand side before squaring across for Hope Akpan. 

The midfielder hit a first-time effort but Shrewsbury goalkeeper Joe Murphy parried into the path of James Vaughan whose rebound was blocked.

After a quiet start to the second-half, Samuel Ricketts’ men drew first blood.

Salop winger Donald Love was left open on the right flank before lifting a ball into the path of Edwards.

The visiting substitute made no mistake to slot home - in the 66th minute. 

City pushed for an equaliser - late on - with a couple of last-minute corners, but were unable to breach the away side’s defence as Ricketts' men advanced into the next round. 

CITY: Richard O’Donnell; Adam Henley, Ben Richards-Everton, Anthony O’Connor, Connor Wood (booked 42’); Hope Akpan (Zeli Ismail 84’), Dylan Connolly, Callum Cooke, Harry Pritchard (Daniel Devine 76’); James Vaughan ©, Aramide Oteh (Kelvin Mellor 76’). Subs (not used): George Sykes-Kenworthy (GK), Paudie O’Connor, Jake Reeves, Jermaine Anderson. 

SHREWSBURY: Joe Murphy; Scott Golbourne (booked 90’), Ro-Shaun Williams, Omar Beckles, Shaun Whalley (Louis Thompson 87’); Oliver Norburn ©, Brad Walker (Dave Edwards 53’), Donald Love (booked 88’), Ethan Ebanks-Landell; Josh Laurent, Jason Cummings (Fejiri Okenabirhie 68’).  Subs (not used): Max O’Leary (GK), Aaron Pierre, Ryan Giles, Lenell John-Lewis.

GOALS: Dave Edwards (66’).

ATTENDANCE: 3,888 (172 visitors).

Advertisement block