Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


18 November 2019

Club News


18 November 2019

City look to claim a spot in the second round of the Emirates FA Cup, tomorrow evening, hosting Shrewsbury Town in a first-round replay. 

The Sky Bet League One outfit currently sit 11th in the table, having only played one match since last week's 1-1 draw with the Bantams, in Shropshire. 

With action set to get underway from 7.45pm, we have compiled an Opposition Guide, packed full of detailed information on tomorrow’s visitors...


The Montgomery Waters Meadow outfit made 12 additions to their squad in the summer transfer window, with a further 19 leaving the club. 

Ins: Ethan Ebanks-Landell (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Joe Murphy (Bury), Luke McCormick (Chelsea, loan), Donald Love (Sunderland), Jason Cummings (Nottingham Forest), Aaron Pierre (Northampton Town), Callum Lang (Wigan Athletic, loan), Louis Thompson (Norwich City, loan), Daniel Udoh (Telford United), Ryan Giles (Wolverhampton Wanderers, loan), Sean Goss (Queens Park Rangers), Max O'Leary (Bristol City, loan). 

Outs: Mat Sadler (Walsall), Reice Charles-Cook (Macclesfield Town), George Hughes (Airbus UK BFC), John McAtee (Scunthorpe United), Aaron Amadi-Holloway (Brisbane Roar), Cameron Gregory (Kidderminster Harriers, loan), Christos Sielis (APOEL Nicosia), James Bolton (Portsmouth), Doug Loft (Billericay), Sam Jones (Harrogate Town), Lifumpa Mwandwe (Newton, loan), Alex Gilliead (Scunthorpe United), Abo Eisa (Scunthorpe United), Lee Angol (Leyton Orient), Ryan Haynes (Newport County), Luke Waterfall (Grimsby Town), Anthoy Grant (Swindon Town, loan), Steve Arnold (Northampton Town), Steve Morison (retired). 


Shaun Whalley: 

A winger, Whalley has been in Shropshire since moving from Luton Town - in 2015.

The experienced 32-year-old spent time at the Norwich City academy and has also represented the likes of Accrington Stanley and Chester. 

Fejiri Okenabirhie:  

City supporters may remeber Okenabirhie from last season, after the striker's hat-trick could not save Shrewsbury falling 4-3 at the Utilita Energy Stadium. 

The 23-year-old began his career at Stevenage after spending time in Arsenal's academy, and has made five appearances for the England 'C' side.

Ethan Ebanks-Landell:

Defender Ebanks-Landell turned professional as a 17-year-old in 2010, having gradiuated through Wolverhampton Wanderers' academy. 

Now 26, the defender spent nine years at Molineux which included loan spells at Sheffield United, MK Dons, Bury and Rochdale. 

Omar Beckles: 

A Grenada intetnational, Beckles penned a three-year deal at Salop in August 2017, after two years at Accrington Stanley. 

With a wealth of experience in non-league, the 28-year-old defender also spent two years in the academy at Milwall. 


Sam Ricketts is in his first full season at the Shrewsbury helm, having taken the hot seat at Montgomery Waters Meadow last December. 

The 38-year-old was handed the job after a successful spell in the Wrexham hot seat, maintaining a win percentage of over 54 in north Wales. 

Ricketts enjoyed a successful playing career as a defender, earning 52 senior caps for Wales and playing in the Premier League for Hull City and Bolton Wanderers. 


Skipper Oliver Norburn is in his second season at Shrewsbury, having signed from Tranmere Rovers in the summer of 2018. 

An experienced midfielder, Norburn began his professional career at Leicester City in 2011, having progressed through the academy at both the Foxes and Chelsea. 

The 27-year-old alos carries further EFL experience at the likes of Plymouth Argyle and Bristol Rovers. 


Sam Ricketts' men secured their place in the second round of the Trophy, last Tuesday, with a 3-1 win at home over Macclesfield Town. 

Shrewsbury Town 3 (Louis Thompson 28', Dave Edwards 74', Brad Walker 83')

Macclesfield Town 1 (Theo Archibald 59') Trophy

Wednesday November 13th 2019

Attendance: 1,065

Shrewsbury: Joe Murphy (booked 90+3'); Ro-Shaun Williams, Ethan Ebanks-Landell, Scott Golbourne; Shaun Whalley, Josh Laurent, Brad Walker, Ryan Giles; Louis Thompson (Donald Love 67', booked 67', dismissed 76'), Fejiri Okenabihrie (Lenell John-Lewis 88'), Dave Edwards. Subs (not used): Cameron Gregory (GK), Luke McCormick, James Rowlands, Jason Cummings, Luke Ward. 

Supporters can PAY ON THE GATE for tomorrow's clash, or purchase online by CLICKING HERE

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Contact