Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


10 April 2020

Club News


10 April 2020

Manager Stuart McCall's City Dream Team has officially been revealed. 

In a video released across the club's social media channels, McCall also congratulated Richard Todd - who won the competition by guessing the side correctly. 

The 18-man squad consists of a starting 11 and seven substitutes - all of which the City boss shared the pitch with over his two playing spells as a Bantam, between 1982 and 1988, and 1998 and 2002. 

Having guessed successfuly, Todd will now receive a 2020/21 home shirt, signed and presented by McCall himself. 

The competition initially got underway on Monday March 30. After no correct submissions were lodged before the initial deadline - on Friday April 3 - supporters were given until Monday (April 6) to send in another entry. 

Entries had to form an 18-man squad from the 26-man shortlist compiled by McCall, guessing every player in the former Scotland international's starting 11 and substitutes - in their correct positions. 

The City chief's starting 11 included a back four of Wayne Jacobs, David Wetherall, Peter Jackson and Trevor Cherry - who guarded goalkeeper Gary Walsh. 

The midfield then consisted of wingers Peter Beagrie and John Hendrie, with Gareth Whalley and Greg Abbott in central roles. 

All-time leading goalscorer Bobby Campbell was partnered by Robbie Blake in attack, with Eric McManus, John Hawley, Jamie Lawrence, Lee Mills, Dean Windass, Darren Moore and Mark Ellis on the bench. 

In the video, McCall said: "I would like to send a big 'thank you' to everyone who entered - and the many who sent lovely, heart-warming messages and kind words, in their e-mails.

"Commiserations to those who came so close to guessing correctly. Nearly, but not quite!

"And, well done and congratulations to Richard Todd, who guessed all of my starting 11 and substitutes to become the ultimate champion!

"Hopefully, everyone has enjoyed taking a trip back down memory lane, as I have."

The full 18-man squad is as follows: 


GK - Gary Walsh
RB - Trevor Cherry
CB - David Wetherall
CB - Peter Jackson
LB - Wayne Jacobs
RW - John Hendrie 
CM - Greg Abbott
CM - Gareth Whalley
LW - Peter Beagrie 
ST - Bobby Campbell
ST - Robbie Blake


Eric McManus
Darren Moore
Jamie Lawrence
Dean Windass
Mark Ellis
John Hawley
Lee Mills

The full 26-man shortlist was as follows: 

Eric McManus
Gary Walsh
Trevor Cherry
Stephen Wright
Peter Jackson
Andy O’Brien
John Dreyer
Dave Evans
Darren Moore
David Wetherall 
Chris Withe
Wayne Jacobs
John Hendrie
Jamie Lawrence
Greg Abbott
Dean Windass
Mick Kennedy
Gareth Whalley
Mark Ellis
Peter Beagrie
Bobby Campbell
Lee Mills
Dean Saunders
John Hawley
Robbie Blake
Benito Carbone

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Contact