Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


15 January 2020

Club News


15 January 2020

The shortlist for the 2020 Bradford Sports Awards - which will be held at the Utilita Energy Stadium - has officially been unveiled. 

This year's awards have seen a record number of nominations cast - with the ceremony set to be held on Thursday March 12. 

The awards aim to celebrate incredible achievements and success stories seen throughout sports in Bradford - with the ceremony returning for its fifth-annual instalment.

Unveiled today across Active Bradford's official Twitter account, the announcement saw more than 50 nominees revealed over 18 different awards. 

Heading the Sportsman of the Year award are England World Cup-winning cricketer Adil Rashid, Great Britain triathlete Andrew Dovernor and Dean Harrison, a motorcyclist and Isle of Man Senior TT Winner. 

In the running for the Sportswoman of the Year award are rugby league's 2019 Telegraph Woman of Steel Amy Hardcastle, national taekwondo champion Ellie Bowden and England Street Child World Cup cricketer Jasmin Akter. 

This year’s category sponsors include Broadway Bradford, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council, Living Well, Grand Central, Napoleons, Bradford BID, LCF Law, JU:MP and Woodhouse Grove.

Former City defender and chair of Active Bradford, Wayne Jacobs, said: "We have a lot of amazing people in our district.

"We have people who have achieved success - both personal to them and in the sporting world - and those who give their emotions and energy to others for them to be able to achieve their successes.

"It is fantastic to hear more about these people and to be able to celebrate their achievements with them."

"I believe the judging panel had a very difficult afternoon choosing finalists for each award.

"Everyone should be proud of what they have achieved over the past year, and beyond."

For more infomation on the awards - and to view the full list of nominations - CLICK HERE or head over to Active Bradford's official Twitter page

To purchase tickets for the ceremony, please CLICK HERE

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Contact