Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


6 May 2022

City's pitch at the Utilita Energy Stadium has been 'highly commended' by the EFL, as part of the annual Grounds Teams of the Season awards. 

Led by head groundsman Mick Doyle, the Valley Parade team has received the honour alongside Exeter City and Tranmere Rovers in Sky Bet League Two, with Newport County coming out on top. 

AFC Bournemouth have been crowned the Sky Bet Championship winners, with Middlesbrough and Nottingham Forest highly commended, while Bolton Wanderers take League One's top prize, closely followed by Ipswich Town and Lincoln City. 

Grounds teams up and down the country have worked tirelessly this campaign to maintain pitches across all 72 of the EFL’s clubs, and the Grounds Teams of the Season awards recognise the staff who have produced the best quality playing surfaces in each division.

Pitch marks are provided by the referee and away team manager for all EFL league matches. The top clubs from each division with the highest divisional average are then visited by Neil Rodger, from STRI (Sports Turf Research Institute), where further assessments are carried out, which cover pitch quality, environmental conditions and usage, resources, management and sustainability.

Once all club visits have taken place, in-depth reports and recommendations are submitted to the Playing Surfaces Committee, at which point winners are determined.

The winners of each division will receive a trophy and certificate, while 'highly commended' clubs will receive a certificate.

2021/22 winners of the EFL Grounds Teams of the Season awards are as follows:


Grounds Team of the Season - AFC Bournemouth

Highly Commended - Middlesbrough

Highly Commended - Nottingham Forest


Grounds Team of the Season - Bolton Wanderers

Highly Commended - Ipswich Town

Highly Commended - Lincoln City


Grounds Team of the Season - Newport County

Highly Commended - Bradford City

Highly Commended - Exeter City

Highly Commended - Tranmere Rovers

To see City's pitch in action again next season, secure an 'Own The Moment' 2022/23 season ticket by CLICKING HERE

Advertisement block