Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


30 August 2023

Club News


30 August 2023

Sponsored by

Andy Cook was crowned 2022/23 Sky Bet League Two PFA Players' Player of the Year, at last night's star-studded awards ceremony in Manchester. 

City's No.9 enjoyed a record-breaking campaign last time out, scoring 31 goals in all competitions. His 28 in the league saw him pick up the division's Golden Boot trophy, becoming the first Bantams player in history to win the prize outright. 

Celebrating 50 years of the awards, the Professional Footballers’ Association broke new ground this season, marking the occasion with three new PFA Players' Player of the Year prizes for the Championship, League One and League Two.

This means Cook beat Leyton Orient's Paul Smyth (now QPR), Lawrence Vigouroux (now Burnley) and Omar Beckles, Northampton Town's Sam Hoskins and Elliot Watt of Salford City to become the first-ever winner of the inaugural award. 

He was also named in the Sky Bet League Two Team of the Year, as voted for by his fellow players from across the division. 

Cook said: “It is a proud moment and an honour to be voted by my peers. It is brilliant.

“It is always nice for the work you have done not to go unnoticed. To do what I did last year and then get the recognition from all the players in League Two is unbelievable.

“I did not start in the first couple of games last season, but then I scored a couple of goals off the bench. I got into a run of scoring goals and fortunately it did not stop.”

The event was hosted at the Lowry Theatre, Manchester last night, with some of the biggest names in the domestic game among the attendees. 

To view the full list of winners, please head over to the PFA website and Twitter channel

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Contact